The 3 Sentence Strategy

I sat down to write my ivoteforart.com business strategy tonight. You know, really write it. I’ve had most of it in my head, but I really needed to actually document it. Even if just on one page.

I soon realised something. you don’t even need a page to write your strategy. You need just 3 points. In fact, you can only have 3 points.

Here are my three points:

1. Without arists, there’s no website

2. But then, you also need visitors

3. Once you get visitors, treat them right.

That’s it. That’s my strategy.

If I don’t have any new artists on the site, I have nothing. The very first thing I ever did when deciding to start ivoteforart was to contact artists. If there was no art to display on the website, there was no website. But also, good artists beget good artists. Whenevcr I add a great artist to the site, it makes it easier for me to attract more great artists.

My second point, about needing visitors, is the next step. Obviously I need to let potential visitors know about the site. And then visit the site. An then re-visit. And re-visit again. And maybe one day, make a purchase.

And once they do buy something, I’ve got to do whatever I can to make it a great experience for them. And hopefully then they will tell others about it, and the ultimate – word-of-mouth – kicks in.

Sure, mine is a pretty simple website. The content-traffic-customer service business model is fairly straightfoward. But whatever business you’re in – if it takes more than 3 sentences to describe your business, something’s not right. It’s not simple enough.

2 Responses

  1. yes Ben this is a simplistic way but honest.
    You found the “Be” of your business the essence, now the tactic calls

  2. I love it, adn I agree. Long strategies, are well….. not very strategic. I agree 1 page is nearly always enough. My strategy for http://www.rentoid.com is not far removed for the i vote for art strategy. It goes like this:

    Listings, leads to members which leads to transactions. Brand awareness and Usability leads to listings – everything flows from that. Everything we do must start this process.

    great post Ben – you are my personal rock star.

    Steve.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

