Blogging? The Environment? New Marketing?

For anyone who has stumbled upon my blog, you’ll see that it’s essentially about marketing. But it’s also a hotch-potch of posts about the environment, socially responsible marketing, a little on blogging and a sprinkle of web 2.0.

I’m still relatively new to the blogging thing, but as I start to crystalise what this blog is about, I realise that I’m interested in all of these topics. I want to be a part of all of this.

And actually, I think that there are a lot of similarities in a conversational marketing strategy (a blogging stategy or a two-way marketing strategy) versus a responsible marketing strategy (environmentally or socially responsible). Here’s just some of them:

  • To start with, these aren’t band-aid strategies – You can’t implement a blog in the short term. To write a blog means that you have to read other blogs. It requires longer term listening. You need to be part of the conversation. The same is true of responsible marketing. You can’t just whack a socially responsible marketing strategy on as an afterthought. It has to be longer term.
  • Culture – It’s been said that blogging is cultural. Responsible marketing also needs to be inherent in your company’s culture.
  • Trustworthiness and transparency. To survive in the blogosphere, you have to be trustworthy. And you’d better get those skeletons out of the closet, or else someone else will for you. So too with responsible marketing.

I’m sure that there are more examples of how these two worlds collide, and it’s a subject that I’d like to explore some more. In fact I think that this is actually the what my blog will be about.

If anyone has any thoughts on the matter, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

