Last.fm sounds like innovation

OK, it’s official. I am completely addicted to last.fm. It looks like you are too. From Alexa:

lastfmgraph.jpg

Of the huge influx of web2.0 products and services, this is one of the rare few that stands out.

If you haven’t seen this site yet, get yourself over to http://www.last.fm straight away. Set up an account, and last.fm starts learning what music you are into. It develops a profile of your music tastes, and based on this it reccomends new music that you will like.

This is what they say about it:

You get your own online music profile that you can fill up with the music you like. This information is used to create a personal radio station and to find users who are similar to you. Last.fm can even play you new artists and songs you might like. It’s addictive, it’s growing, it’s free, it’s music.

From a music lover's perspective, it completely eliminates the need to listen to crap music any longer. The music that is recommended to you istop-notch. It gives you the chance to try before you buy a new album. And it will introduce you to new music that you would have never found. Legally.lasttail.jpg

Being un-tech minded, I'm blown away by the technology here. And it's truly healthy for the music industry. It gives punters like me a new-found thirst to find good music. You can even filter by obcrurity with this nifty little long tail slider.

The entrepreneur in me is excited too. Last.fm has totally changed the rules of how we listen to music, much like the iPod did not that long ago. It's also breath of fresh air online. Where many of the new web 2.0 applications are beginning to seem the same, last.fm truly delivers something innovative. I'm hooked. You will be too.

4 Responses

  1. Yes, I like last.fm a lot. I have incorporated the “currently listening to” chart into the top of my blog. It makes me feel “cool” because I listen to some diverse stuff and then I get to show everyone my great musical taste. (I convert old LP’s to mp3’s, so many times I am the only person in the last.fm database to be listening to a song- that is cool!)

    I have so much music, that I don’t really need to use the feature that lets me explore new music. (at least not yet)

    I expore new music with pandora.com. I really like pandora and have found lots of good tunes with it.

    The thing I like about last.fm is the tracking of artists. I like to see what I have listened to as well as see what others are listening to.

    Since I put my large library on “random”, I only listen to a song or two by the same artist, unlike many folks that seem to listen to the same song/artist many times over.

    So yeah, last.fm is very neat-o!

  2. James Garner

    know garageband can do essentially what you’re asking, maybe sound studio too. That old school classic app SoundApp was amazing and would probably work as well. I know it does work under classic.

  3. Claudette Colbert

    might do the job. Its for Linux (and Windows) but I would expect to be able to compile it under OS X.

  4. Vincent Damon

    Wow!! I personally knew Bucky. I was the one who took him to Apple Computer and introduced him to Steve Jobs who gave him a tour of the Cupertino facility.

Leave a Reply

