The books we own, the blogs we read …

Two years ago, my plan was to go back to study when I came back home to Melbourne. Now that I’m back, there isn’t much chance you’ll see me at school.

In the last 2 years, I’ve learnt exponentially more about marketing from books, blogs and podcasts than I ever did at uni. By going back to study, I’d be learning all the wrong things. More about the rules of old marketing, and not nearly enough about the new. Marketing has evolved so much in the past 5 years that I don’t think that universities could have kept up.

I am now home in Melbourne and the job hunting starts this week. So I’m adding the following sections to my resume.

1. Greatest marketing books that I own

2. Blogs that I regularly read

3. Podcasts that I listen to

I think that these three sections give me much more of an edge than more study would.

80% of the potential employers who read my CV might be perplexed by this ‘unorthodox’ approach. But I really want to work for the remaining 20%, who probably have read the books that I’ve read, and understand what blogs or podcasts are.

If, by the way, you are reading this, you are in that 20%. Any chance you could offer me a job?

One Response

  1. Hello, Ben. Just dropped by to read a bit and greet you.

    Joy for this Christmas season.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

