Back in the saddle

So here I am, blogging again. Although I’m far from finding the rythym just yet – I used to have a list of potential blog posts as long as my arm; right now I can’t think of anything all that insightful to write about. I’m sure it’ll come back to me.

Besides, I find bloggers like Hugh Macleod sometimes just write to reflect, rather than offering nuggets of insight in every post. So I might experiement a little. Let down my guard. And just write.

It has been almost 3 years since I began this little blog. Since then, social media arena grew up. Now we have Facebook. We have Twitter. We have i Phones. We have 1.4 billion people online.

Blogging itself never really hit the mainstream. But that doesn’t matter. Because the fundamental ideas that blogging represents are alive and well. Mass amateurisation. Mass connection is happening.

But while some things have changed, a lot has stayed the same.

Sadly, even now that I’m working in the online industry, I still find so many people who don’t “Get” what the internet is about. They keep pumping out banner ads and building microsites. Sadly there still isn’t that many great examples of brands that have suceeded in social media. Yes, there are plenty of companies that have done a fantastic job. but I still believe we have a long, long way to go.

Lately I’m finding myself more interested in the effects of the web on our culture that I am about it’s effect on marketing. Either way, I’m as passionate about the internet as I’ve ever been. And If you haven’t seen Kevin Kelly’s TED presentation on “the next 5,000 days of the web”, take a look below. There’s a lot to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

